LPA-Geistesblitz 5/2018
Geistesblitz
23. May 2018

LPA-Geistesblitz 5/2018

Variabilisation of a fixed-rate financing using a “Cancellable Receiver Swap with Cap”

Initial Situation

In an earlier edition of the „Geistesblitz“ we discussed the increase in fixed-rate financing.1 The interest of corporate customers in alternatives to a variable bank loan is rising. Fixed-rate bank loans, promotional loans (low-interest loans from public sector banks), corporate bonds and promissory note loans (“Schuldschein-Darlehen”) are profiting from this development.

The decision for a “Schuldschein-Darlehen” or corporate bond does usually not occur due to the preference of the issuer for a fixed rate. Both financing vehicles are available with floating rates as well. Thus, if they bear a fixed rate this is mostly owed to the investor’s preference for fixed rates.2 By leaving the investor the decision which variant to choose, the issuer surrenders sovereignty over its interest rate mix  in the sense of a mixture of fixed and variable interest rates.

In case of a fixed-rate bank loan or promotional loan the fixed rate might be unintentional. A need for action arises, should the increase in fixed-rate financings lead to a considerable deviation from their target profile. The current Geistesblitz “Variabilisation of a fixedrate financing using a `Cancellable Receiver Swap with Cap´” is an attractive way for customers to subsequently adjust their interest rate mix.


Market Overview overview (March 16th 2018):
3

6-month Euribor:   -0,2720% p.a.
7-year swap rate:    0,7440% p.a.

The following chart shows the performance of the 6-month Euribor and the 7-year swap rate over the last 5 years.

 

Cancellable Receiver Swap with Cap

Product description:

Your client enters into an interest rate strategy with a 7-year maturity receiving a fixed rate of 2.00% p.a. to serve a fixed-rate financing with 7 years remaining. In return, your customer pays the 6-month Euribor plus an interest spread of 1.35% p.a. The interest rate of your customer is limited to 4.50% p.a. by a cap.4 At mid-term – after 3 years and 6 months – the bank has the sole right to cancel the strategy.

Indicative terms and conditions:

  • Notional:    e.g. EUR 10M (no amortization)
  • Duration:    7 years from today
  • Frequency: semi-annually

Benefits and risks from a client perspective:

Benefits:

  • In spite of a new variability in the interest rate, your client is protected against an increase in the 6-month Euribor i.a. by more than 3.15% p.a.
  • As long as the receiver swap is not cancelled, the customer is given the opportunity to participate in a stable, falling or slightly rising 6-month Euribor.
  •  Your customer is able to restore his desired interest rate mix.
  • Based on current market data, the interest rate of your customer is approximately 1.08% p.a.5, a saving of approx. 0.92% p.a. compared to the existing fixed rate of 2.00% p.a.

Risks:

  • The maximum rate of the strategy of 4.50% p.a. exceeds the existing rate of 2.00% p.a. by 2.50% p.a.
  • Your client will pay an interest rate spread in addition to the 6-month Euribor which increases his interest rate against the reference rate by up to 1.35% p.a.
  • The variabilisation of your client’s interest rate is only temporary. If the bank cancels the strategy after 3 years and 6 months the interest rat is 2.00% p.a. once again.

In a Nutshell

The Geistesblitz „Variabilisation of a fixed-rate financing using a `Cancellable Receiver Swap with Cap´“ shows your customers a way to partially re-adjust their interest payments by increasing the variable portion and restore the desired interest rate mix. Despite the increase in the variable interest rate, he is still hedged by a maximum interest rate. In case the bank exercises its cancellation right of the strategy, the client returns to his original fixed rate.

This strategy is another facet showing the possibilities of separating liquidity management and interest rate management. Liquidity man-agement can continue to take place via the most appropriate financ-ing form in each specific case. In interest rate management, the de-sired interest profile – such as a target interest rate mix – is achieved by means of complementary strategies.


If you are interested in the March 2017 edition of the Geistesblitz please contact us via jan-henning.becker@l-p-a.com
Another advantage is the avoidance of negative reference rates and associated mitigation procedures (i.e. Euribor floors).
Swap rates: 6-month Euribor (semi-annually) vs. fixed rate (annually)
Should your client wish to waive the interest cap, the interest spread declines by appr. 0.08% p.a. to 1.27% p.a.
Interest rate of the client: 1.0780% p.a. = -0.2720% p.a. + 1.3500% p.a.

About the author
Jan-Henning Becker

Jan-Henning Becker is Senior Manager at LPA’s Distribution Advisory team. He has more than 10 years of experience in capital markets, having worked at a German investment bank before joining LPA. He is CFA charterholder and has earned the FRM certificate. At LPA, Jan-Henning focuses on consulting topics related to trading and sales of risk management products.

Jan-Henning Becker
Senior Manager

Contact form



Jan-Henning Becker
Senior Manager

Contact form



Jan-Henning Becker
Senior Manager
Menu

LPA-Geistesblitz 5/2018
Geistesblitz
23. Mai 2018

LPA-Geistesblitz 5/2018

Zum Inhalt:

Variabilisierung einer Festsatzfinanzierung durch einen kündbaren Receiver-Swap mit Cap

Vorbemerkung

Bereits im Frühjahr letzten Jahres hatten wir die relative Zunahme von Festsatzfinanzierungen in einem „Geistesblitz“ aufgegriffen.1 So entscheiden sich deutsche Unternehmen zunehmend für alternative Finanzierungsformen zum klassischen variablen Bankkredit. Hiervon profitieren Festsatzkredite, Förderkredite, Schuldscheindarlehen (SSD) und Unternehmensanleihen.

Die Entscheidung für ein SSD oder eine Unternehmensanleihe erfolgt dabei nicht zwangsläufig aus einer grundsätzlichen Festsatzpräferenz des Unternehmens heraus. So sind beide Finanzierungsvehikel auch mit variablen Zinssätzen anzutreffen und die Ausgestaltungen als Festsatz überwiegend auf eine Festsatzpräferenz der Anleger zurückzuführen.2 Indem der Emittent dem Anleger die Entscheidung überlässt, gibt er die Hoheit über seinen Zinsbindungsmix – im Sinne der Mischung von festen und variablen Zinsen – aus der Hand.

Auch im Falle eines Festsatz- oder Förderkredits muss der Festsatz nicht dem originären Wunsch des Kunden entsprechen. Daher entsteht Handlungsbedarf, wenn es durch die Zunahme von Festsatz-Finanzierungen zu einer deutlichen Abweichung vom Wunsch-Profil des Unternehmens kommt. Der aktuelle Geistesblitz stellt mit dem „kündbaren Receiverswap mit Cap“ eine attraktive Möglichkeit für Unternehmen dar, ihren Zinsbindungsmix nachträglich zu adjustieren.

Marktüberblick (16.05.2018):3

6-Monats Euribor:     -0,2720% p.a.
7-Jahres Swap-Satz:   0,7440% p.a.

Die folgende Grafik zeigt die Entwicklung des 6-Monats Euribor und des 7-Jahres Swap-Satzes in den letzten 5 Jahren.

 

Kündbarer Receiver-Swap mit Cap

Produktbeschreibung:

Ihr Kunde schließt eine Zinsstrategie mit 7-jähriger Laufzeit ab, aus der er den Festsatz 2,00% p.a. erhält, um seinen Festsatzkredit mit 7-jähriger Restlaufzeit zu bedienen. Im Gegenzug zahlt Ihr Kunde den 6-Monats Euribor zzgl. eines Zinsaufschlags von 1,35% p.a. Die Zinslast Ihres Kunden wird durch einen Cap auf 4,50% p.a. begrenzt.4 Zur Mitte der Laufzeit – nach 3 Jahren und 6 Monaten – hat die Bank einmalig das alleinige Recht, den Receiver-Swap zu kündigen.

Rahmendaten der Ausgestaltung:

  • Bezugsbetrag:                  z.B. 10 Mio. EUR (ohne Tilgung)
  • Laufzeit:                            7 Jahre ab heute
  • Frequenz:                          halbjährlich

Chancen und Risiken aus Kundensicht:

Chancen:

  • Trotz einer Variabilisierung der Zinslast ist Ihr Kunde vor einem Anstieg des 6-Monats Euribor über 3,15% p.a. geschützt.
  • Solange der Receiver-Swap besteht, erhält der Kunde die Chance, an einem stabilen, fallenden bzw. leicht steigenden 6-Monats Euribor zu partizipieren.
  • Ihr Kunde ist somit in der Lage seinen Wunsch-Zinsbindungsmix wiederherzustellen.
  • Auf Basis aktueller Marktdaten reduziert der Kunde seinen Zinssatz von 2,00% p.a. auf ca. 1,08% p.a.5 Dies entspricht einer Ersparnis von ca. 0,92% p.a. ggü. dem bestehenden Festsatz.

Risiken:

  • Der Höchstzinssatz der Strategie von 4,50% p.a. übersteigt den bestehenden Festsatz um 2,50% p.a.
  • Ihr Kunde zahlt zusätzlich zum 6-Monats Euribor einen Zinsauf-schlag, welcher seinen Zinssatz gegenüber dem Referenzzinssatz um bis zu 1,35% p.a. erhöht.
  • Die Variabilisierung der Zinslast ist nur vorläufig. Kündigt die Bank den Receiver-Swap zur Laufzeitmitte, beträgt der Zinssatz wieder fix 2,00% p.a.

Fazit

Der Geistesblitz „Variabilisierung einer Festsatzfinanzierung durch einen kündbaren Receiver-Swap mit Cap“ zeigt Ihrem Kunden eine Möglichkeit, seine Zinslast im gewünschten Umfang erneut zu variabilisieren und den gewünschten Zinsbindungsmix wieder zu erreichen. Trotz des variablen Zinssatzes ist er durch einen Höchstzinssatz abgesichert. Im Falle einer bankseitigen Kündigung der Strategie fällt er auf seinen ursprünglichen Festsatz zurück.

Die Strategie ist eine weitere Facette, Liquiditäts- und Zinsmanagement zu trennen. Das Liquiditätsmanagement kann weiterhin über die im konkreten Fall geeignetste Finanzierungsform erfolgen. Im Zinsmanagement wird durch ergänzende Strategien das gewünschte Zinsprofil – wie bspw. ein Ziel-Zinsbindungsmix – erreicht.

 


 

1 Bei Interesse kontaktieren Sie uns für die Geistesblitz Ausgabe März 2017 unter jan-henning.becker@l-p-a.com
Ein anderer Vorteil ist die Vermeidung negativer Referenzzinssätze und verbundener Mitigationsmaßnahmen (z.B. Floors).
3 Swap-Sätze: 6-Monats Euribor (halbjährlich) vs. Festsatz (jährlich).
Wünscht Ihr Kunde auf den Cap zu verzichten, sinkt der Zinsaufschlag um ca. 0,08% p.a. auf 1,27% p.a.
Zinssatz des Kunden: 1,0780% p.a. = -0,2720% p.a. + 1,3500% p.a.

Zum Verfasser
Jan-Henning Becker

Jan-Henning Becker ist Senior Manager bei LPA im Bereich Distribution Advisory. Er hat über 10 Jahre Kapitalmarkterfahrung und arbeitete vor seinem LPA-Einstieg bei einer Frankfurter Investment Bank. Berufsbegleitend hat er sich zum CFA und FRM qualifiziert. Hier bei LPA beschäftigt er sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Beratungsthemen rund um den Handel und Vertrieb von Risikomanagement-Produkten.

Jan-Henning Becker
Senior Manager

Kontaktformular



Jan-Henning Becker
Senior Manager

Kontaktformular



Jan-Henning Becker
Senior Manager
Menü