LPA Office

Case Study – Clearing & Collateral Management

Our solutions for the business and the people behind it—designed with capital-market expertise, technical knowhow and experience, and state-of-the-art technology.

Case Studies

The Project

According to the »European Market Infrastructure Regulation« (EMIR), new rules apply to the collateralisation of uncleared OTC-derivatives since the 1st of March. Thus new derivatives transactions have to be collateralised with a variation margin, and depending on the transaction volume with an initial margin on top.

These collateral-requirements are regulated by framework agreements or new collateralisation annexes (Credit Support Annexes). Because of that, they pose an administrative challenge for existing derivatives(-portfolios): Institutes can conduct their old and new business per counterparty under various contracts, or they agree to adjust derivatives contracts to the new regulations.

The re-structuring can have a significant influence on the recoverability of the entire portfolio. Because of that, it is important that both counterparties have the same level of information. Our client was addressed by his counterparties concerning a re-arrangement of his collateralisation annexes. The aim of the project was to qualify the recoverability of the re-arrangement of the collateralisation annex with the respective counterparty.

The Strategy / Our Approach

First, the portfolio was transferred to LPA and validated according to a comparison of market values. After that, assumptions were agreed upon which serve as a proxy for the counterparty risk / rating and funding costs for the institute itself as well as for the counterparty. Certain value-determining factors (e.g. break-clauses) were discussed and agreed. Several calculations were done using various assumptions to determine a spread as basis for negotiations—from the perspective of the institute as well as the counterparty. The calculations were adjusted according to the progress of the discussion.

Bewertung

The Software

Because of various xVA-effects (Credit Valuation Adjustment, Funding Valuation Adjustment) the benefits of one counterparty can exceed the disadvantage of the other counterparty—in total, this results in a net margin that can be allocated between both parties. In this context, our evaluation software LPACalc offers the possibility to assess existing portfolios under different CSA-drafts from the perspective of both counterparties. The tool enables the projection of the complete recoverability of the re-structuring.

Our Solution

Under different assumptions we determined the impact of potential re-arrangements of selected CSA-contracts of the client and supported bilateral negotiations with the counterparty. In this way, significant payoffs for the re-arrangements could be achieved.

Digital Advisory

The Entire Consulting Process
»on demand«

Would you like to know more? We will be happy to advise you.?

More Case Studies

Christian Behm
Christian Behm
Your partner for
Risk & Quant Consulting

Contact form



Christian Behm
Christian Behm
Your partner for
Risk & Quant Consulting
Menu

LPA Office

Case Study – Clearing & Collateral Management

Unsere Lösung für das Geschäft und die Menschen dahinter – gestaltet mit Kapitalmarktexpertise, Fachberatung und zeitgemäßer Technologie.

Case Studies

Das Projekt

Gemäß der »European Market Infrastructure Regulation« (EMIR) sind seit dem 1. März 2017 neue Regeln zur Besicherung von nicht-geclearten OTC-Derivaten festgelegt. Demnach müssen neue Derivategeschäfte ab diesem Stichtag mindestens mit einer Variation Margin abgesichert sein, je nach Geschäftsvolumen auch zusätzlich mit Initial Margin.

Diese Collateral-Anforderungen werden über Rahmenverträge bzw. neue Besicherungsanhänge (Credit Support Annexes) geregelt. Dadurch stellen sie auch eine administrative Herausforderung für bestehende Derivate(-Portfolios) dar: Institute können ihr Alt- und Neugeschäft je Kontrahent entweder unter verschiedenen Verträgen führen, oder sie vereinbaren eine Anpassung der Derivateverträge an die neuen regulatorischen Anpassungen.

Diese Restrukturierung kann einen signifikanten Einfluss auf die Werthaltigkeit des gesamten Portfolios haben: Daher ist es wichtig, dass beide Kontrahenten über den gleichen Informationsstand verfügen. Unser Kunde wurde von seinen Kontrahenten auf eine Umstellung des Besicherungsanhangs angesprochen. Das Ziel für dieses Projekt bestand in der Quantifizierung der Werthaltigkeit der Umstellung des Besicherungsanhangs mit dem jeweiligen Kontrahenten.

Die Strategie / Unsere Vorgehensweise

Zunächst wurde das Portfolio an LPA übertragen und anhand eines Marktwertabgleichs validiert. Daraufhin wurden Annahmen vereinbart, welche als Proxy für Kontrahentenrisiko/Rating und Finanzierungskosten sowohl für das eigene Institut als auch für den Kontrahenten getroffen werden sollen. Zudem wurde die Behandlung von bestimmten wertbeeinflussenden Faktoren (wie z.B. Break-Clauses) diskutiert und gemeinsam entschieden. Mehrere Berechnungen wurden unter verschiedenen Annahmen durchgeführt, um eine Spanne als Verhandlungsgrundlage zu beziffern – sowohl aus eigener Sicht als auch aus Sicht des Kontrahenten. Je nach Diskussionsstand und -fortschritt wurden die Berechnungen aktualisiert.

Bewertung

Die Software

Wegen diverser xVA-Effekte (Credit Valuation Adjustment, Funding Valuation Adjustment) können die Vorteile des einen Kontrahenten die Nachteile des anderen Kontrahenten übertreffen – insgesamt ergibt sich so ein Nettogewinn, der zwischen beiden Parteien alloziert werden kann. Unsere Bewertungssoftware LPACalc bietet in diesem Zusammenhang die Möglichkeit, bestehende Portfolios unter verschiedenen CSA-Ausgestaltungen und jeweils aus der Sicht beider Kontrahenten zu bewerten. Das Tool ermöglicht es also, die gesamte Werthaltigkeit einer geplanten Restrukturierung abzubilden.

Unsere Lösung

Unter verschiedenen Annahmen haben wir die Werteffekte potenzieller Umstellungen ausgewählter CSA-Verträge des Kunden ermittelt und darüber hinaus die bilaterale Verhandlung mit dem Kontrahenten unterstützt. Auf diese Weise konnten deutliche Ausgleichszahlungen bei der Umstellung erzielt werden.

Digital Advisory

Der gesamte Beratungsprozess
»on demand«

Möchten Sie mehr darüber erfahren?
Wir beraten Sie gerne.

Weitere Case Studies

Christian Behm
Christian Behm
Ihr Ansprechpartner für
Risk & Quant Consulting

Kontaktformular



Christian Behm
Christian Behm
Ihr Ansprechpartner für
Risk & Quant Consulting
Menü